Blogging Celebrations Ensue:

Because my blog’s birthday was a little lacking in posts and fun things, I decided that I would make it a week-long celebration. As someone who was actually born on Christmas Eve, I am a definite supporter of week-long birthday bashes! In celebration of my blog’s first year, I would like to write about some bloggers that have inspired me even if our blogs are within different spectrums. I’m not sure I really have a niche for my blog yet, I say ‘lifestyle’ but I guess it’s a ‘write whatever comes to mind’ style blog instead. Today I’ve decided to write about my friends, Amy from Cocktails in Teacups and Rachel from Happy Little Syllables. Both girls are two people I consider very close friends and who helped me more than they could possibly know last year, so what better way to thank them by shamelessly plugging their blogs and saying great things about them?

testing-image2

I love Amy, she is one of life’s very rare treats and never fails to put a smile on my face. She writes at Cocktails in Teacups about fashion, beauty and her life that she shares with her practically perfect in every way daughter, Little Miss. I first met her very recently when we met up in Newcastle with Sian and Rachel for the day and I had a blast. She is an amazing woman who has had her fair share of struggles, but has weathered those storms and come out stronger and happier than ever. I love reading her blog because she has this effortless charm about her, that is probably as a result of her Disney infatuation, which I guess would make anyone bubbly and sweet, but I think Amy encapsulates the essence of Disney in a way that basically makes her a princess. I love her a lot and I know that she’s had a tough time lately, so I just wanted to give back to her what she gave to me, by shamelessly plugging her blog and her friendship. She’s a sweetheart and I think people like Amy deserve to be told all of the time.

25ozz7l

On paper, Rachel and I shouldn’t get on. She’s from Sunderland and I’m from Newcastle and tradition dictates that we should not be pals, but, like Romeo and Juliet and like Allie and Noah from The Notebook, we weathered those storms and became fast friends. We didn’t have sex or kill ourselves, either, so I guess that’s one thing that makes us infinitely better than the aforementioned play/book/films. Rachel and I met via Twitter, which is always the way, and formed a fast friendship through our love of wine, terrible banter and Absolutely Fabulous. She’s another person who helped me through a really dark time and I hope that I’ve been there for her in the same way. Rachel is suffers from a chronic illness, but as anyone who will know her, knows that she won’t let that stop her from doing all the things she wants to do. Late last year she started Femtellectual and asked me to write for her and having watched the site go from strength to strength and feature some of the most amazing blogging talents that the blogging world has to offer, it’s an even bigger privilege to be one of Rachel’s friends.

So, there you go, two of my lady loves that have inspired me both in terms of blogging and in terms of friendship. I’ve never really been one for female friendships, but with the help of these two, I’ve rediscovered what it’s like to be a part of a group that are loving, supportive and undoubtedly hilarious. Lots of love to you both. xx

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Blogging Celebrations Ensue:

  1. […] Blogging Birthday Celebrations. This week Doris’ blog turned one! I love Doris blog because she is straight talking and I like Doris because she’s a hilarious […]

Leave a comment