Eminem, Rape Fantasies and Iggy. Oh My.

If you have ever defined yourself as an Eminem fan, you’ll know that he is an inherent misogynist. This doesn’t make you one too, but you can’t deny that his entire career has been spent spewing vitriolic diatribe against women who he deems as people who have wronged him, or simply aren’t worthy of his time. A deeply ingrained, perpetual cycle of inherent misogyny, combined with a blatant God complex will do that to a guy, you know?

Admittedly, I have several Eminem albums on my iPod and I will listen to them on occasion, but I have never once denied that Eminem’s lyrics are steeped with intense unresolved issues with the opposite sex. I’m sorry, ladies, but he hates us and somewhere, at some point in time, we will have all done something to cause Eminem some distress that resulted in a scathing and potentially dangerous rap lyric spewed out with the anger and blind hatred only Eminem has been able to perfect in his career. In his career he has attacked:

Mariah Carey
Kim Kardashian
Britney Spears
Christina Aguilera
Mother of his child, Kim
His own mother
Amy Winehouse
Sarah Palin
Lana Del Rey
Iggy Azelea

To name but a few…

It doesn’t take a genius to realise that the source of his misogyny is inherited from his issues that he has with his mother; his music is steeped with intense rage at how he felt his mother treated him as a child and whilst I can’t argue that he’s lying, he did lose a battle in court when she accused him of defamation, so I guess it’s up to you to make up your own mind of whether the issues were real, or he made them up to give a little padding to rap lyrics that would be a bit bland without them.

I hate you, mom/my childhood was fine/but I still fucking hate you, bitch!*

You also don’t need to have a doctorate in psychology to determine that your adult interactions and relationships with the opposite sex, as well as your general perceptions thereof, will weigh heavily on your childhood. Needless to say, Eminem did not have the best relationship with his mother, so he continued his woman hating ways by pursuing relationships with women who would receive the back lash of his vicious tongue if they didn’t live up to his expectations. His relationship with his first wife Kim was tempestuous to say the least and she has been the subject of many of his songs, consisting solely of violent and damaging imagery to the point where his ex tried to commit suicide when she heard one particularly harrowing song.

Fast forward to 2014, where he has attacked female rapper Iggy Azalea in a worrying discourse that can only be described as an intense rape fantasy featuring the female rapper as his unwilling victim:

“Bitch, shut the fuck up and get in my car / And suck my fucking dick while I take a shit / And I think with my dick so come blow my mind / And it tastes like humble pie / So swallow my pride, you’re lucky just to follow my ride / If I let you run alongside the Humvee / Unless you’re Nicki, grab you by the wrist, let’s ski / So what’s it gon’ be? Put that shit away Iggy / You don’t wanna blow that rape whistle on me / Scream! I love it / ‘Fore I get lost with the gettin’ off.”

I mean, let’s not get into the fact that the lyrics ‘suck my fucking dick while I take a shit’ are perhaps the worst rap lyrics ever conceived, his blatant obsession with his own appendage, especially within the discourse of shaming and defiling a woman would be a Freudian wet dream. I think Christina Aguilera said it best when she said that he ‘must talk so big, to make up for smaller things’ in her video Can’t Hold Us Down.

The fact of the matter is, Eminem simply isn’t relevant anymore and in his desperate attempt to cling onto fame and youth, his renowned vitriol within his songs is becoming dangerous and increasingly worrisome. As someone who has been heralded as a rap God, his sphere of influence is a large one and promoting rape within songs is dangerous, regardless of what your stance on Eminem is. Iggy said it best herself when she likened the rapper to a washed up old man, but there is no denying that his lyrics are extremely relevant when comparing to our ever increasing culture of rape within society.

The fact that he has gotten away with spewing such misogynistic overtones within his music for so long is one thing, but to allow this to continue is entirely up to us – as music fans and as people who don’t think it’s okay to threaten rape or promote rape fantasies on such a huge public forum. Eminem, he’s had his hay day and whilst his music is potentially damaging to a woman’s self esteem, I’m not going to judge anyone who listens to him, but I think as a community, we should be doing more to admonish old rappers who think it’s okay to reach middle age and still hate on women without seeking some kind of advice from a medical professional. I mean, Eminem probably doesn’t care that he is promoting rape and giving out poor messages to the youth of today, but like, Dre should at least have a word with him and tell him to stop being such a fucking desperate for attention, washed up prick, you know?

*One of the reasons I decided not to be come the next big rap artist.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

